Does anybody have a rain barrel?

Discussion in 'Gardening Other' started by DaphDaph, Jul 8, 2007.

1. DaphDaph

DaphDaph Seedling

Hi,
    I'm new to gardening and new to this great website. I'm thinking about getting a rain barrel to collect rain for my plants. If you have one, do you like it and any suggestion for picking one out. Any suggetions or ideas would be apreciated. thanks!

2. Loading...

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

If you are thinking of a rain barrel then I'd make sure it has a secure top/lid on it as you'll end up with floaters in it otherwise. We found a dead mouse and a dead sparow in ours when I forgot to replace the lid. I don't know if you can get barrels where you are with taps at the bottom but they're a great idea and certainly save a lot of effort.

4. Netty

Netty Chaotic Gardener Plants Contributor

Anything to catch the rain water is a good thing, but just make sure that you are able to get the water back out to use easily. A tap is a great idea or a big enough opening to fit your watering can into. My first barrel was great at catching and holding the water, my only problem was getting the water OUT!

5. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Randy built me one early last year. We found a garden center that specializes in organically grown native plants. They buy vinegar by the 55 gallon barrel and lots of them and sell the barrels either as-is or they will convert them to rain collectors or compost bins and sell them.
    We put up guttering along the roofline at the back of the house with a down spout into the top of the barrel, thru a protected opening so critters can't get it and he put a spigot at the bottom. It is also sitting up on cinder blocks to get it off the ground enough for gravity to work getting the water out thru a hose.

I also have one waiting and waiting to become a compost bin :rolleyes:

Advertisement
  6. DaphDaph