Easy plants for the driveway.

Discussion in 'Garden Design' started by Mrs. Hankshaw, Jun 1, 2012.

1. Mrs. Hankshaw

Mrs. Hankshaw Seedling

I'm trying to redo the two flower beds on either side of our driveway the previous owner set up. It's a hard area to keep watered so I plan on easy plants that can handle heat. I'm in coastal georgia, so it gets pretty hot here. I'm a complete amateur at landscaping so I'm learning as I go. So far I plan to put a couple of baby century plants on both sides, those will take awhile to get to a good size so I need more plants to fill it up. Any ideas? I can water if it ever gets too dry but I don't want to set myself up for failure with plants that need regular maintenance. Any input is appreciated.

2. Loading...

3. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

4. Mrs. Hankshaw

Mrs. Hankshaw Seedling

Thanks. I hadn't thought of putting cannas there, I have a few by my house already. These are good options, thanks. My mom just told me she'll give me her two medium sized variegated century plants instead of the small ones, so I'm happy about that. I like yuccas also, I hope I can find a few somewhere.

5. designshare

designshare New Seed

Asparagus,gladiolus,pulmononaria,beschorneria... work too.but these plants aren't very nice for the curb appeal.you try to interplant some drought tolerant hostas,rosemary...

Advertisement
  6. Mrs. Hankshaw

Mrs. Hankshaw Seedling