Fall Lawncare

Discussion in 'Lawn Care' started by bsteeves, Sep 8, 2010.

1. bsteeves

bsteeves New Seed

Hey everyone,

I just recently purchased a house and have inherited a lawn that is in pretty rough shape. The grass consists of mainly crabgrass, weeds, and there are several areas of the grass that is pretty much dead.

What do you suppose is my best course of action to get my lawn back in order? Please bear in mind that this is my very first lawn and have absolutely no idea what I am doing.

Thanks in advance.

2. Loading...

3. Kay

Kay Girl with Green Thumbs

bsteeves- Hello there. I am not an expert, but I am also planning on doing some improvement on my turf. Of all growing things, grass is the very least of my interests... that being said, we also have areas of crabgrass, and have neglected our turf, in favor of planting shrubs, perennials etc. ;)
    If your lawn is totally awful, you might consider getting rid of all of it and starting over. (which would need to be in the spring) with either seed or sod. If it isn't the entire area , you could do hand pulling...
    We are going to start by aerating and getting some good fertilizer down this Fall. I have been picking brains, and researching online to get info. You can put down a pre emergent along with the fertilizer this Fall, and then a crabgrass preventer in the spring about the time the forsythia is blooming. There are also herbicides, if you don't mind going that route. Garden centers are more than willing to sell those products. Just be certain to read labels, and follow directions.
    Like I said, I'm no authority, but this might be a start for you...Good luck!

4. bsteeves

bsteeves New Seed

Hi Kay,