First time gardener with stupid question

Discussion in 'Seed Starting / Propagation' started by MaryE, Jan 23, 2008.

1. MaryE

MaryE New Seed

Hello,
    I'm new to the idea of growing my own seedlings indoors and was wondering.....when i recieve a package of seeds, should i put the whole pack in one container..or maybe 1-2 seeds in each egg-carton slot? I dont know much about thinning and may want to avoid that.
    Thanks for your time!

2. Sjoerd

Sjoerd Mighty Oak

Hiya Mary,

Your question is of course, NOT stupid at all, let's be clear about that. In fact, it is a straight foreward quection but it is dificult to answer without knowing what you are planning to do with the seedlings ultimately...that is to say, where the plantlets will end up--and what type of plants you will be growing (flowers or veg).

I'll bet if you asked several different folks these questions, you'd get just as many different answers.
    As the saying goes, "There's more than one way to skin a cat".

How I plant seeds to gernminate depend entirely upon what I plan to do with them once they are big enough to transplant to the next stage.
    For instance: if you were going to plant something like Lobelia pendula or say, a Nigells sort, then I would plant the whole pack in a pot or the open ground.

If you want grow something like zinnias or lychnis or sunflowers, I would do them individually (or at least two)in a very small pot and transfer them when they have their first set of leaves.
    When it comes to veg, I usually plant one seed per pot, but then I plant very many of them. I am talking here about things like beans, peas, courgettes, etc...NOT root veg.

Well, I hope that this gives you a bit of an idea... but as I said, for a more specific answer it is necessary to know what you plan to plant your seedlings ultimately.

Anyway...welcome to the forums. I hope that yopu like it here, there are lots of knowledgeable and enthousiastic gardners present to help.

3. MaryE