first time greenhousing

Discussion in 'Greenhouse' started by catkins, Apr 6, 2006.

1. catkins

catkins Seedling

Hi everyone.
    Today i bought a greenhouse, its only small,4x6.I havent the foggiest idea where to start :? ( remember im a beginner) im going to fill it with my seedlings, but then would like to try some salads.Does anyone have any tips on first time greenhousing?
    thanks

2. dooley

dooley Super Garden Turtle

This is the first time I have had a greenhouse too. DR built it for me. I just have to remember to go out every morning and open the vent. Otherwise it gets too hot in it. I have about 600 pots of stuff in it. I have to water them every morning and sometimes in the evening. I have Winter Thyme, Creeping Thyme, Summer Savory, and Sweet Marjarom coming up already, plus two kinds of lavender and sweet peas and Black Eyed Susans, and Glory Vines. Today, I bought eggplant, peppers and tomatoes (seeds) to start tomorrow. I bought some flower seeds too. I moved 21 hollyhocks out by the front fence. I have never planted hollyhocks but they come up everywhere. They are all over town and the seed is spread by birds and wind I guess. Dooley

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Sorry I can't help as I don't have a greenhouse but I'm keen to know how you both get on with yours. :D

4. catkins

catkins Seedling

Sounds like you are really getting on with yours dooley.I built it yesterday, but havent put the glass in yet.I need to make a base for it first and hope to start the concrete and paving today.
    I had two and a half tons of gravel delivered yesterday and it took all day to put it in.My back garden looks so much better, the greenhouse is a treat for all my hard work, still so much to do though!! Look at the rest of the garden :D ohhhhhhhh my aching back :(

Advertisement
  5. dooley