Green really tall stalks with huge heart shaped leaves

Discussion in 'Plant ID' started by Karinlee67, Jul 23, 2012.

1. Karinlee67

Karinlee67 New Seed

Ive been cutting it back for three years and It keeps sprouting new stalks. The picture was taken after cutting it off so its droopy. I grows really fast with many stalks smooth green really tall stalks with huge heart shaped leaves. Never flowers. The trunk gets wider every year. Does anyone know what it is and how to be rid of it? Thank you for considering this problem. I keep trying to insert a picture of it but I dont see it when I view my post.......

[​IMG]
    ( photo / image / picture from Karinlee67's Garden )

moderator's note: added a more descriptive title to topic

2. Loading...

3. oubee

oubee In Flower

Hi Karine, welcome to Gardenstew :stew2: I don't know the name of this plant but am sure others will help you with the ID. Do edit the thread to add a more precise title; will definitely catch the attention of someone who recognises this lovely plant. Cheers!

Frank likes this.
  4. Cayuga Morning

Cayuga Morning Strong Ash Plants Contributor

Karinlee--I am sure womeone will be able to id your plant. The thing about inserting photos is that after you think you are all done, you still have to click on the image to actually get it inserted. You will be prompted to do this, but it is still easy to miss.
    The leaves of your plant look vaguely sunflowerish, but It can't be because a sunflower wouldn't grow up from a root stock after being cut down....Do you know if it is a tree, bush, deciduous?

5. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash

I think you have a catalpa tree there. They smell awful (the crushed foliage) and are very hard to kill off. Cut the stem/trunk off and spray the open wound with a weed killer or try vinegar as an herbicide but be careful to not spray any on any desired plants. Any overspray from either choice will kill off your keeper plants.

Advertisement
  6. purpleinopp