"Hot House" Hydrangeas not blooming

Discussion in 'Hydrangea' started by woodlandfey, Apr 11, 2008.

1. woodlandfey

woodlandfey Seedling

Okay, I've been reading these and they are all very interesting but I've not found one that pertains to my particular problem.
    I used to work in a Florist shop, I managed the greenhouse. Well, we would get these beautiful "hot House" Hydrangeas and sometimes they wouldn't sell. So.....I took a couple of these home (5 yrs ago) and planted them. They are the most beautiful plants in my garden but nary a bloom on them. Never have bloomed since they were in the greenhouse. Is this because they were "Hot House" grown? Does anyone know about this??????
    Thanks in advance!
    :rolleyes:

2. Loading...

3. trudy

trudy In Flower

I noticed no one has attempted to answer this for you, I'm not an expert on hydrangeas so here goes. I would think that if they are getting what they need it wouldn't matter where they were grown. Are they recieving enough sun, to much shade can cause hydrangeas not to bloom, over watering? I have hydrangeas an acutally I don't do anything to them. I usually forget they are around until they start blooming. Have they been over pruned, meaning could you be pruning the blooms off before they have a chance to bloom unknowingly.

4. woodlandfey

woodlandfey Seedling

Thanks Trudy for the reply.
    Actually they get acidic fertilizer in the spring. They get plenty of sun/shade mix. I don't prune them because of fear of snipping off any blooms. They just don't bloom. Plenty of moisture, not too much. I think I actually take pretty good care of them. Just no blooms. Wierd.
    Thanks for trying!!!!

5. zuzu's petals

zuzu's petals Silly Old Bat Plants Contributor

Hi woodlandfey,
    I am no expert regarding Hydrangea either, :oops:
    and it surely seems to me that you are "doing things right" to have success.
    So, since it's nothing you're doing wrong,
    this is my best guess -