How do I start daylilies from seed?

Discussion in 'Seed Starting / Propagation' started by stratsmom, Aug 4, 2007.

1. stratsmom

stratsmom Flower Fanatic

Can I just drop the seeds in the dirt next to the parent plant or do I have to refrigerate them and force them to germinate? How do I make them germinate??? Obviously I've never done this before, I'm really interested in it though. I'm paying a lot of attention to the scapes too, I'm hoping there will be proliferations!
    Deanna
    :-D

2. Loading...

3. Jo

Jo New Seed

Hey Deanna,
    I was wondering that also. Where did you get the daylily seeds? I saw them for sale in one of the seed catalogs. Jo

4. stratsmom

stratsmom Flower Fanatic

Hi Jo :-D
    You can buy them on ebay, and different places but I was going to try to harvest my own and see if I could make them work before I spent any money. I'm kind of cheap :D I think if you let the pods dry out on the stem you can just shake the little seeds out. Maybe I'm all wrong, hopefully somebody will tell us how to do it :-D
    Deanna

5. Jo

Jo New Seed

Hey Deanna, Nothing wrong with being cheap. I am too. I was just curious like I said I saw them in catalog. The daylilys in the catalog have a different look than most, and most catalogs I've seen sell them bareroot. Anyway hope someone else knows. I'll be watching to see. Jo

Advertisement
  6. seedfreak

seedfreak New Seed

Hey Jo and Stratsmom, I have daylily seeds

HI Jo and Stratsmom, Don't buy seeds, I have just harvested a bunch from some happy returns daylilies. I will share. Send me a pm and let me know if you are interested. To get them to germinate, you can winter sow them if you get enough cold, but I have had more success by freezing them. Seedfreak

7. cajunbelle

cajunbelle Daylily Diva