How to brighten up a room with light brown walls?

Discussion in 'Choosing Colors' started by Andrea Llanes, May 27, 2018.

1. Andrea Llanes

Andrea Llanes New Seed

Hi all! I'm a graduate student moving into a new city for school. Yesterday I visited the room I'll be renting and now I want to plan how I will decorate it, but I've never designed my own room before. The picture shows how it looks before the room is emptied.

To me it looks like the walls are painted light brown, the ceiling is white, the floor is carpeted with gray. I want my future room to look bright and cozy, but I can't repaint the walls. Any advice on the colour of bed frame, desk, area rug, and accents I should choose? Thank you!

Attached Files:

Gail-Steman likes this.
  2. Loading...

3. mart

mart Strong Ash

How big is this room ? I assume it is in town with people on the window side ! What kind of lighting does it have ? I would stay with a creamy white for case furniture and bright white for the frames of any artwork you might have ! accent colors can be any thing you like as long as they are on the bright side of the color palette ! Pale colors will just wash out. Even red would be a good splash of color for a pillow or two !! Area rug should just blend with the accessories with some white or other light color in the print ! You will likely need a window treatment since you will be changing clothes in the room ! Stand in front of the window and measure to your chin. That is where the top of the window treatment should be and leave above that open. White is what I would use for those as well ! ! Use a curtain rod that allows you to slide the curtains back on either side so light is unobstructed when possible. That way even if you are dressing the top part of the window will allow light in but obstruct the view below your chin ! Kind of hard to judge heights ect from a pic ! Just my opinion !

Last edited: May 28, 2018
  4. Ronni

Ronni Hardy Maple