I rescued another plant!

Discussion in 'Gardening Other' started by Ronni, Oct 16, 2013.

1. Ronni

Ronni Hardy Maple

First of all, I may have posted this question in the wrong section of the forum, but as I have no real clue what I'm dealing with, I figured I'd start here, and Admin can move the thread if it's in the wrong place.

The lady at the grocery store told me she thought it was a miniature rose plant/bush. For $1.99, I was willing to rescue it and then figure out the rest. ;) It doesn't look like it's in bad shape, though there are no roses or even buds anywhere in evidence.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I don't know if it's clear enough in this photo, but there even looks like there is some new growth emerging....a slightly brighter green on the topmost leaves than the surrounding ones.

[​IMG]

So........now what?

Is it a miniature rose? And if so, do I plant it in the garden, or is it a house plant? Whichever it is, how do I care for it? I've never tried to grow a rose before, of any variety, so I'm clueless. The big rose I just transplanted out in my front garden is a complete experiment, I have no idea if it's going to come back next season or not. Meanwhile, please can you tell me how I deal with this itty-bitty one? :stew1:

Frank and donna in nc like this.
  2. Loading...

3. cherylad

cherylad Countess of Cute-ification Plants Contributor

It looks like a mini rose to me. I just bought one the other day from a dollar store.
    I'm not sure about planting them... but I guess you could.
    This is my second one. The first I kept in a container and it lasted 2+ years.

4. TheBip

TheBip Young Pine

There are different kinds of mini roses. Those grown in greenhouses meant to be houseplants (they may not do well planted outside as they've been pampered) and those that are grown for the outside garden.
    I've had 2 of the greenhouse ones in my lifetime, and neither lasted very long. I think they just dont like me haha

5. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash