Is it feasible/possible to add photo downsizing to the site

Discussion in 'Suggestions / Comments / Help' started by cherylad, Dec 3, 2013.

1. cherylad

cherylad Countess of Cute-ification Plants Contributor

I don't have a problem downsizing my photos to post here, and I understand the reasoning for having a limit on the size allowed.
    I use Photoshop here at work and I have GIMP at home.
    But I keep seeing members having problems or questions on how to get their photos to the proper size to upload, and was wondering if it is possible and/or feasible to have some kind of way to have an "on-site" photo editing option?

2. Loading...

3. Cayuga Morning

Cayuga Morning Strong Ash Plants Contributor

Cheryl---I think that is a great idea! I for one would very much appreciate it. I am not tech savvy. I used to be able to reduce the size of my photos by going on Picassa and then to 'Creative Kit' but this feature has been discontinued. I have new photos I would love to post but can't :(

4. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

I use GIMP, it's free and really easy to use.

5. annieh

annieh Seedling

I downloaded Faststone that Frank put a link to on the starter pack. It's easy to use.

Advertisement
  6. V for short

V for short Seedling

I use Faststone as well for my regular photo viewer. It's simple to use and to resize photos. I'd recommend it.

7. jbest123

jbest123 In Flower

I prefer to do my editing off line rather than on line. I use older versions of Photoshop and Corel Paint shop pro. On eBay you can find less than current versions at a very reasonable price and still have 95%+ of the capabilities of the new version.

8. Frank

Frank GardenStew Founder Staff Member Administrator