Need lawn advice

Discussion in 'Lawn Care' started by Spring_rain, Feb 23, 2008.

1. Spring_rain

Spring_rain New Seed

I moved into this house in May 2006, and last year the neighbor's complained to the city twice because of my lawn. (Welcome to the neighborhood!) The last owners let it go, and there are a lot of bare spots. Partly, I think because before I bought it the neighbors on one side let their dog go on it, but I can't prove that.

But what's the best, cheapest, way to make it look like a lawn? I don't want to just pave it with rocks, although other homeowners have done just that. Could I just buy some grass seed and scatter it? I'm a house and lawn newbie.

P.S. They let the back yard go, too, and it's bare spots alternating with weed choked areas.

2. Loading...

3. bullthistle

bullthistle New Seed

Lawn.

You seem to have problems. Yes you could just scatter seeds and pray it rains, but the best thing to do is to start from scratch, which is what I did when I moved into my house. I got tired of mowing a lawn filled with weeds, so I rented a Troy-Bilt tiller added lots of manure from the big box and compost and use Turf Builder every spring. I dig up the crabgrass when it sprouts and use weed killer when necessary thanks to the neighbors and I can say it was worth worth the effort to start from scratch. It is something that I am proud of when I get my weekly exercise.

4. Allison

Allison New Seed

We are in a similar boat, although the neighbors are not complaining. We are about to start over in the back, as our lawn has tons of weeds and lots of gravel from the old owner.

5. Jo Green

Jo Green New Seed

Additional Lawn Advice

I agree with bullthistle. If you just spread grass seed around, if the soil is not healthy then your efforts will be useless.