New to starting from seed and needing a little advice!

Discussion in 'Seed Starting / Propagation' started by Serena, Mar 3, 2012.

1. Serena

Serena New Seed

Hello!
    This is my first year to start from seed and needless to say, Im super excited! I have encountered siomw issues and would appreciate some advice. Most all of my seeds have germinated and are up and growing. I am using flourscent lights about 2-3 inches from my plants. I purchased some trays that had been used by my local greenhouse the previous year. I cleaned these well before using. I also purchased a sterile seed starting medium. I cant seem to keep my trays from drying out! They are inside my house at about 75 degrees, no longer using bottom heat and I have tried to leave light, circulating air on them at all times. I will water the trays and return in 2 hours only to find some cells completely dry while others are still wet. I tried to water from the bottom and found that the water was not wicking up into the cell. There are drainage holes in each individual cell (medium sized, the black plastic kind of you see when you buy plants from the greenhouse) and the water would maybe wick up about an inch or two but not enough to get to where the seedlings are. I did a little experiment and left a tray with growing medium in it (no seeds) sitting in water overnight and it still didnt wick more than 1-2 inches. The medium drains very well when water from the top however, pouring the water on the top seems to disrupt the soil and the little plant. Of course by the time Ive gotten to the last few trays Im so tired of delicately watering each individual plant that I dont have as much control and end up dumping water all over the seedling on accident. I also tried using a mister on top since this seemed to get the surface wet and I wasnt as likely to flood the cell. I did a few experiments with the different types of watering and have started submerging the trays in a little water once per day then I sti