No Dig Garden, advice please

Discussion in 'Seed Starting / Propagation' started by butterfly88, Nov 2, 2013.

1. butterfly88

butterfly88 New Seed

Hi all,

I am a newbie gardener and excited about my new No dig garden.

My beds consist of the lasagna style which I used sugar cane mulch and chicken manure, layered and then some mushroom compost on top with more sugar can mulch around the plants.

My question is now that my veggies have established themselves my soil has depleted and got quiet low, I just wasn't sure if i should add more chicken manure or mushroom compost to my garden beds as I didn't want to burn the plants but just felt that the garden needs to be topped up.

Would any one please have some advice for me, I would be most grateful, many thanks and happy gardening. :-D

2. Loading...

3. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash

Keep layering what you have available. This is a cycle that will continue and you will need to do so yearly. The "system" is designed to repeat the "cycle". As the layers decompose and the plants grow the nutrients are used up need to be replenished.

4. Henry Johnson

Henry Johnson In Flower

Shades of Ruth Stout!!
    Thank you for reminding me of her, I shall now head over to (e-bay/half.com) to see about acquiring copies of her gardening books.. I've read her books on gardening but don't own any copies, a situation which I will soon rectify..
    Hank

carolyn likes this.
  5. butterfly88

butterfly88 New Seed

Thank you Carolyn, so its ok to keep on layering once veggies are established, you don't need to wait till the plants finish their cycle?

Advertisement
  6. Sjoerd

Sjoerd Mighty Oak

You could add some of your own compost and perhaps some well-rotted cow manure and of course some of the other constituents that you have been using. I would be very careful with adding more chicken manure at this stage.

I have never layered whilst I still had veggies growing, so i do not know how wise that would be or not.