Popeye's

Discussion in 'The Village Square' started by eclecticgarden, Nov 1, 2017.

Tags:
  1. eclecticgarden

eclecticgarden Seedling

The other day I stopped to get some Popeye's chicken. While I was standing in line I heard the lady who was ordering ask for a military discount. I didn't know they even offered a discount for military and said so to the couple in front of me. They obviously didn't know either because I heard her ask him if he had his ID.

Suddenly, the lady who was ordering started talking in a raised voice, "I'm supposed to get 50% off!"

50% seemed really high, but surprisingly the cashier calmly explained that Popeye's no longer offered 50% for military but did offer the standard 10% discount. You would have thought the world came to an end right there. As a veteran myself I can honestly say that I have never been more ashamed of a fellow service member. She whined and complained then asked to speak to the manager. When he explained the same thing she voiced more displeasure, begrudgingly paid and then stormed out of the store loudly issuing the statement, "Twenty-one years serving in the military and kicked to the curb. You just lost a customer!"

The couple in front of me approached the counter and placed their order. I heard her say, "We're veterans too, but we don't want a discount. I'm sorry you had to suffer through that."