poppies from seed - need help

Discussion in 'Seed Starting / Propagation' started by Melissa1982, Jan 25, 2009.

1. Melissa1982

Melissa1982 Seedling

Hi all. I have several packages of poppy seeds. I have never tried poppies from seed before. The seeds are sooo tiny! The packages say they're easiest to start outdoors, but...we have snails and they mow down any new tasty seedlings, except the weeds for some reason. I'm afraid to waste all my seeds. I really love the poppy flowers and wanted to have a lot in the yard this year.
    I have some oriental, california, and breadseed poppy that I can harvest the seed pods from and use the seeds in baking.
    Any advice for poppies? Should I just try them indoors and see what happens?

2. Loading...

3. glendann

glendann Official Garden Angel

Poppies need to just be sprinkled on top of where you want them.They are air germinated.

4. calinromania

calinromania Young Pine

hey mellisa.
    i tried some kinds of poppies but not the annual ones that are easier to have.
    i tried some perennials.
    anyway, i decided never to try small seeds just sprinkled on top of the soil.
    at least, here, the soil gets really hard after you water the soil.
    so... very poor results with seeds that way.
    now i put all my seeds in different containers with potting mix.
    or maybe u could do it like this... have the spot in the garden where you was to sprinkle the seeds and cover that spot with a thin layer of good soil, that doesn't just turn into a crust when the sun comes up.
    it's just an idea.
    not an expert... so...

:D

5. Sjoerd

Sjoerd Mighty Oak

I have tried growing different types of perineal poppies, starting them indoors and out--The majority of the ones that I started indoors and then transplanted outside after frost all died.
    I don't know what it is with poppies and transplanting, but I have never had a great deal of luck.