potting water lily

Discussion in 'Water Gardening' started by Chubbypoptart, Apr 27, 2011.

1. Chubbypoptart

Chubbypoptart Seedling

Hey guys, I'm new to ponding and water plants and the whole bit. I ordered a hardy "almost black" waterlily tuber and it came in today. I planted it in a 3 gallon rectangular container with the cut side against one side of the container. i tried to angle the tuber slightly but there was growing points on each side and a third in the middle. when I put the pea gravel over the soil I pretty much left the whole top uncovered will it be okay like that? does it sound like i did everything right?

[​IMG]
    top of tuber completely uncovered ( photo / image / picture from Chubbypoptart's Garden )

2. Loading...

3. thepondlady

thepondlady In Flower

You did good! What soil did you use? Regular garden soil is best. Want to see pics when it blooms. Feed it once a month for best blooms.

4. cherylad

cherylad Countess of Cute-ification Plants Contributor

I'm pretty new to water plants too... but what you describe is pretty much the instructions when I got my first water plants going. Is this the Louisiana Black gamecock?
    And I second Pondlady... please post photos of their blooms.

5. Chubbypoptart

Chubbypoptart Seedling

okay good:) *sigh of relief* . Cherylad no this is an "almost black" waterlily. the gamecock is planted also but doesnt look very well when i got it the seller had chopped it down for better shipping i guess so all the blades she chopped are browning. who knows maybe it will recover.

heres the iris hopefully recovering

[​IMG]
    black gamecock iris ( photo / image / picture from Chubbypoptart's Garden )

heres the bloom for the tuber i just planted

[​IMG]
    "almost black" waterlily ( photo / image / picture from Chubbypoptart's Garden )

Advertisement
  6. cherylad

Hopefully they will all survive and bloom for you. That "almost black" is a real beauty!
    How big is your pond? Any photos?

7. Danjensen