Removing old wallpaper

Discussion in 'Home Improvement, DIY and Repair' started by Primsong, Mar 18, 2008.

1. Primsong

Primsong Young Pine

We are in the process of getting a condo ready for a friend to move into, so this evening I had to go rent a steamer and spend several hours steaming off old wallpaper from the bedroom walls. Well...first I had to figure out the steamer, lol... I've never used one before. Thankfully they're not too complex. I found the steamer worked well enough to soften the old paper and let it be pulled off, then I scraped the undercoating with a plastic scraper (a putty knife was recommended, I used a car ice-scraper, lol...).

The wallpaper had been there who-knows-how-long, it was a peachy-pink floral calico type pattern, rather yellowed with age. My guess was it had been there about as long as the condos, which would make it 30+ years old.

As I went along slowly peeling and scraping and steaming I noticed the ugly gold wall underneath had odd smears of white, not quite like patching... and then realized I had two letters. L and V.

More steaming and peeling and behold... a message, large painted in white across the gold began to appear. L - O - V - E.

Well, I thought, Love is a nice thing to have on the wall. Certainly better than other graffiti I've seen... maybe they were hippies....

Steam, steam, scrape, scrape, peel...

Y - O - U

Hm!

Steam, steam... and sure enough, an I appears to one side, then a comma.

B.

P.

I finally cleaned up all the sticky bits of steamed gluey paper and could behold the finished result. A gold wall with patching where the nails were and large white letters:

I LOVE YOU, B.P.

Who was B.P.? Were they the lover or the lovee? What had become of them? Were they yet living, and if so did they ever remember how they had left, perhaps on some sunny day in their impetuous youth, this cheery message upon a wall "because no one will ever see it anyway, it'll be under the wallpaper"?