Screwed it up good ! Assistance please !

Discussion in 'Computer and Internet' started by mart, Feb 14, 2017.

  1. mart

    mart Hardy Maple

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    NE Texas
    OK..I tried to download a manual for a pasta machine !. That was a big mistake. Somehow it loaded google chrome toolbars but what I was reading didn't say a word about it. I hate google chrome and was just using the regular google homepage without the toolbars. So I uninstalled google chrome. Now I can`t do anything ! Even internet explorer says page cannot be displayed,, keeps telling me I am offline ! So came in to the bedroom to use this computer and I am obviously not offline .
    Any ideas what happened and how to fix it ? The light is not great in here and I need my computer.
    Using Bing now and this site says I am using an outdated browser.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2017
  2. Loading...


  3. toni

    toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    18,266
    Likes Received:
    3,601
    Location:
    North Central Texas, Zone 8a
    Go to Internet Explorer and click on File (I believe, it may be one of the other options across the top) and it will say "Work Offline". Uncheck that and you should be able to go online again.
     
  4. mart

    mart Hardy Maple

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Nope,, that was not checked. I wondered about restoring the default but at this time I am almost leary of doing anything. I am on the same computer now but if I try to search from the IE homepage using Bing it tells me something is wrong or I am offline !! I can`t even find the program I downloaded to remove it ! It was just supposed to be for changing document files to PDF and vice verse !! I thought I needed that to read the manual I wanted since I couldn`t read it otherwise,,it wouldn`t show it ! Even right now as I type to my right it says the webpage can not be shown. Or something similar !
     
  5. Netty

    Netty Chaotic Gardener Plants Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15,875
    Likes Received:
    1,862
    Location:
    Southern Ontario zone 5a
    Go into control panel > system and security> action center >restore to an earlier time
    Follow the prompts and roll back to before you downloaded the manual.
     



    Advertisement
  6. mart

    mart Hardy Maple

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Tried that and it didn`t work. I just switched over to firefox. Still working out kinks there but at least its usable. Bad thing is I still did not get the instruction manual I needed. Anyone here have a Wally`s Instant Pasta Maker ??
     
  7. waretrop

    waretrop Strong Ash Plants Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    1,948
    Location:
    north eastern Pennsylvania
    Wow...what troubles... so when you download something see, before you click, something like custom or see the gifts that they give you, before you click on OK...... You can click or un click all the gifts and not get them. Also pay attention to the date and go to your "add or remove programs" and look for the date you downloaded it and you can see what they gave you as a gift. There you can uninstall the gift...
     
  8. KK Ng

    KK Ng Hardy Maple

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,373
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Malacca, Malaysia.
    This happened to me before. If you are using Windows 8 or 8.1 or 10 you will have to do a refresh or reset, doing so you might loose some data so make sure to back up important files to another disc or pen drive before proceeding. If that doesn't work reinstall the OS.
    I'm using Windows 10 and did a refresh but was not happy with it and did a reset. Now it is working great again :)



    This is just an example of how to do it. Good luck!
     
  9. mart

    mart Hardy Maple

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    NE Texas
    This one did not have a thing !! The only thing it was supposed to do is switch from Document to PDF file and back. Now since I did not know what format the instruction book was,,one would assume it was needed to view it !! Still did not get the instruction manual. I checked all my programs and nothing was on that date.
    I switched to Firefox and although I can use it,,its slow as my old dial up was. And that is just going from one forum site to another. Darn,, this is a pain in the posterior.
     
  10. mart

    mart Hardy Maple

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    NE Texas
    This is old Windows Vista,, may have to check and see if it has something similar.

    Thanks folks !
     

Share This Page