Soil Concerns

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by Croissant, May 18, 2020.

1. Croissant

Croissant New Seed

Hello! I'm extremely new to gardening and I think I got off on the wrong start to growing plants already. I've made the mistake of using in-ground soil for planters... I do have the pots and planters on the ground that is connected to the dirt that is "in-ground." Will this introduce the needed microorganisms and worms needed to loosen the soil in the pots and planters or do will I need to get new soil? Please help!! Thanks!

Dirtmechanic likes this.
  2. Loading...

3. S-H

S-H Hardy Maple

We recently covered a lot of these issues in detail here:

https://www.gardenstew.com/threads/new-gardeners-need-help.41876/

Gardening is actually a very forgiving hobby, so in my opinion - It doesn't really matter where you got the soil in your planters. I myself use soil from the ground in all my pots.

Plant life is actually very resilient, and can not just survive - But actually thrive in most conditions. Here is a video clip uploaded on YouTube, where NASA was very successfully growing plants in moon dust brought back by the Apollo missions.

So clearly, if plants can grow in moon dust - There shouldn't be any problem where you got your soil for your planters...

Of course, it is always better if we give our plants the best possible conditions to grow in. But if we can't do that, (be it for whatever reason), the sky still doesn't fall.

Last edited: May 18, 2020
    Odif and Croissant like this.
  4. Croissant

Croissant New Seed

That's really reassuring to hear! Thanks for the advice (and the cool video). That was real swell of you!

S-H likes this.
  5. S-H

S-H Hardy Maple