Starting 2023 rose season for me.

Discussion in 'Trees, Shrubs and Roses' started by MIKE ALLEN, Feb 5, 2023.

1. MIKE ALLEN

MIKE ALLEN Seedling

Hi and welcome to my world of roses. I have grown roses now for over sixty years. Do I know it all? A big definite NO. I do love to share, via gardening forums, as much knowledge as possible.
    Back in the 60's. I was a traffic cop and the Regents Park, a royal park in london was a particular area for me. Within the park is the world renoun, Queen Mary's Rose Garden. The park superintendant, SM Gault and I soon became friends. He has authored several books. Thanks to him. I soon became a Fellow of the RHS and the National, later the Royal National Rose Society. Now due to the demise of the RNRS. I am amember of. The Rose Society.UK.

So what has all of this to do with me and roses?

My beloved wife Valerie passed away in 2010. I intended to make our tiny garden, a memorial garden. So many problems, most of which I have mentioned on the forum. NOW. Time to start again. Strange weather conditions and my stock of roses are producing buds all over the place. So I will once again, side-step the basics and start my pruning etc early. So firstly weed removal from the tubs. Give a feed of Toprose.

Last edited: Feb 8, 2023
    Tooty2shoes, Logan, Droopy and 2 others like this.
  2. Loading...

3. Melody Mc.

Melody Mc. Young Pine

A memory rose garden sounds so beautiful Mike. I wish you great success with this.

Thank you for explaining your history with your love of roses. Very interesting. I enjoyed reading that.

I'll look forward to hearing how it progresses. :)

Droopy, MIKE ALLEN and Pacnorwest like this.
  4. marlingardener

marlingardener Happy

Mike, I am a fellow rose lover, and your memory garden sounds like a lovely and loving idea.