Total newbie and can't decide on plants for my garden!

Discussion in 'Garden Design' started by Beeker, Mar 3, 2009.

1. Beeker

Beeker In Flower

I am looking at the different plants that will work in my zone, and don't know what to do. There are over 500, and I don't think that includes the winter bloomers. :eek: How do I begin planning? What can I do to decorate a BIG tree stump?
    I will take pictures as soon as the snow melts and post them. Can you all help me brainstorm and come up with some ideas? I have very few. :(

2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. warrenely
      Replies:
      Views:

3. stratsmom

stratsmom Flower Fanatic

Hi Beeker!!
    I love the name and the avatar!!!!

Deanna
    :-D

4. Netty

Netty Chaotic Gardener Plants Contributor

I think I need to see those pictures first Beeker, before I can start brainstorming :)
    What kind of exposure will your new garden have?

5. gardengater

gardengater Young Pine

Welcome from coastal NC, Beeker. Yes, post some photos of your area and we can send some suggestions. Your local nurseries should sell plants that grow in your area and often give valuable advice. Enjoy the "stew"

Advertisement
  6. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Is your soil on the acidic side or alkaline? That will determine what you can/can not plant or how much amending of the soil you will have to do before planting. You won't be able to plant all the plants rated for your zone because of the different soil types in that zone. Your best bet is to haunt the local garden centers to see what plants grow best in your area.

First pick a spot. Determine how much sun/shade it gets every day. Is it easy to drag the hose to or will it need plants that prefer dry soil?