What plants for my bathroom, advice please

Discussion in 'Houseplants' started by ogami, Feb 12, 2007.

1. ogami

ogami New Seed

Hi There, I'm not very good with plants... actually that's probably an understatement. I haven't had any houseplants for years apart from our 1 Yukka which despite my best efforts seems to have survived pretty much unscathed. I'd really like this to change so I'm hoping for some help/advice.

I'd really like a plant or 2 in the bathroom but I'm not sure what I should choose. The room doesn't get a lot of light and it tends to build up condensation in there. It's also quite cold even in the summer. Can anyone advise as to what poor plants can handle these kinds of conditions?

2. Loading...

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Ogami you could try an aspidistra in you bathroom as they are really low maintenance plants.
    In the nice humid environment of your bathroom, Boston ferns would do well too. However, my very favorite all-time low-maintenance vine is pothos which you could grow in a pot with a moss pole for support. Any type of philodendron would thrive in those conditions as well such as Monstera Deliciosa which are huge, as are seloum, but there are smaller varieties you can choose from.
    If you want to try something more interesting, you might try an orchid. They're much easier to grow than people seem to think, and they will benefit from the extra humidity of the bathroom. Mmmmm hang on .... maybe not on second thoughts as I've just re-read your maessage and you say you don't get much light in your bathroom and they need plenty of light. You could always go for cacti, succulents or other all time favourites such as a jade plant or spider plant!!

Hope these suggestions help.

Tip: