Which type of liner to use for installation of new pond?

Discussion in 'Water Gardening' started by ThePondGardener, Apr 29, 2014.

1. ThePondGardener

ThePondGardener New Seed

Hey all,

First of all I am pleased to say that this is my first thread on these forums, and I look forward to chatting with the people on here. I am very new to water gardening, and have only just begun researching the materials I will need to add a decorative pond to my backyard.

Thus far I have decided to dig a small pond, approximately 300 gallons in size. I would like to add some artificial pond plants in it, and perhaps some lighting, but no fish or wildlife.

What I am unsure of is which type of pond liner I should go about using when I build this pond. I understand that flexible liners can be easy to work with, since they give you the freedom to fit the lining along the contours and edges of the hole that gets dug. However, what about pre-formed liners? Are they easier to work with, particularly for a novice pond DIYer such as myself? I would think that there are probably a greater range of options for pre-formed liners that are smaller in size (around 200 gallons), but I'm only speculating.

What type of liner do you guys think I should go with for installing my first pond?

2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. momark
      Replies:
      Views:

3. Jerry Sullivan

Jerry Sullivan Garden Experimenter Plants Contributor

When I made the ponds I now have now, I thought of a liner. I listened to a friend who had a liner pond and decided that liners were too fragile and fraught with problems. Both my ponds are made of reinforced concrete. Built in 1999(580gal) and 2001(270 gal) neither pond leaks and both are hosts to a variety of amphibian wildlife. Animals come and drink, birds get a bath and in wintertime the human gets to walk on water(I clean the dead vegetation in hard to reach places when the ice freezes) :)